New Jersey Weapons Charge Attorney

Experienced Criminal Weapons Offense Lawyer in Mount Laurel, NJ Defends and Advocates for Clients Accused of Crimes in Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Throughout South Jersey

Crimes committed with weapons almost always carry stricter and harsher penalties than crimes committed without a weapon. Gun charges in New Jersey are serious, and even the possession of a firearm, in certain cases, can constitute a crime as per New Jersey’s firearms and weapons statutes. If you have been charged with a weapons offense in New Jersey, it is recommended that you immediately seek experienced legal representation. The skilled New Jersey weapons charge attorney at the Law Office of John B. Brennan can help you reduce, dismiss, or defer the charges you face, potentially allowing you to avoid prison and/or substantial fines.

Navigating New Jersey’s Complex Gun Laws with a Specialized Criminal Weapons Offense Lawyer in Mount Laurel, NJ

There are many different types of gun charges that you can face in New Jersey. However, most of them are related to unlawfully possessing a weapon for purposes that are not appropriate to the weapon’s original intent. Depending on the nature of the charges and the severity of the alleged crimes in question, possession of a firearm without a permit is a third-degree crime that can be punishable by between three and five years in prison. This covers weapons such as handguns, rifles, assault weapons, shotguns, and machine guns. If you possess any other weapon that requires a license or permit, this can constitute a fourth-degree crime, and you can face prison time of up to 18 months.

With the above in mind, it is still important to note that items such as knives, razors, box cutters, and even bats, bottles, hammers, pipes, and other potentially dangerous objects can also be categorized as weapons based on the situation and scenario at hand. Furthermore, many weapons charges are accompanied by secondary offenses such as assault, robbery, and other violent crimes. This leads to more serious charges. For example, a simple assault may be elevated to aggravated assault if a weapon is involved. There are many potential charges that the police and prosecutors can hold against you, so having a knowledgeable New Jersey weapons charge attorney on your side is an important part of protecting your rights, freedom, and well-being.

Fighting New Jersey’s Weapons Charges and Penalties with a Resourceful New Jersey Weapons Charge Attorney

Common weapons offenses and gun charges that our experienced New Jersey weapons charge attorney can handle for you include:

In most cases, basic weapons charges are classified as felonies of either the second, third, or fourth degree. They face between 18 months and 10 years in prison and fines of between $10,000 and $150,000. Remember, however, that these charges can be in addition to other charges for other crimes, meaning the accused can potentially face steeper fines and additional jail time for crimes they are accused and convicted of committing.

How Our Proficient Criminal Weapons Offense Lawyer in Mount Laurel, NJ Will Help You Fight the Weapons Charges You Face

Irrespective of what happened before or during your arrest or why you were indicted for weapons charges, New Jersey courts must presume that you are innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. You have constitutional rights to a sound legal defense that strives to obtain a ruling that is favorable for you. Our dedicated New Jersey weapons charge attorney will work to discredit the prosecution’s case and reduce the charges and sentences you face based on the facts of the case. We will also:

Contact Our New Jersey Weapons Charge Attorney Today

Weapons charges are serious business, so do not take any of the charges you face lightly. Contact our compassionate criminal weapons offense lawyer in Mount Laurel, NJ to maximize the chances of winning your case and enjoying the freedoms and rights you deserve.

Frequently Asked Questions About Weapons Charges in New Jersey

What is the best defense against my charges?

It all depends on the types of charges you face and the evidence that the state or prosecution has against you. However, a common but highly effective defense we can use is discrediting the evidence used to charge you. We can do this by proving that some evidence was obtained by illegal search and seizure, or that you were illegally stopped, searched, or questioned. If you were not informed of your Miranda rights, if a biased suspect lineup was put together, if witnesses are unavailable, if witnesses are known to be unreliable, or if there is proof that you did not own, control, or even have possession of the weapons involved in the alleged crimes, we can work toward lowering or dismissing the charges you face based on these facts.

Are there options besides prosecution or jail time for weapons charges?

Yes. New Jersey has harsh penalties for weapons charges, but you may also have the opportunity to avoid incarceration if, for example, you are a first-time offender. A few programs that our New Jersey weapons charge attorney can potentially enroll you in to avoid being prosecuted for weapons charges include Pretrial Intervention (PTI), which involves between one and three years of court-supervised probation, and veterans’ diversions, in which active and former armed service members who are charged with nonviolent crimes can seek rehabilitation and care if they have symptoms of mental illness.

Charges Dismissed

Criminal Offense

Charges Reduced


Charges Reversed

Jail Sentence

Charges Dismissed

Murder / Homicide