New Jersey Jessica Lunsford Act Violations Lawyer
Experienced Sex Crimes Attorney Fights for Clients Charged with Jessica Lunsford Act Violations in Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Throughout New Jersey
On May 15, 2014, New Jersey Governor Chris Christie signed into law the Jessica Lunsford Act. This new law increases the punishment for a defendant convicted of aggravated sexual assault. The new law is not limited to crimes involving kidnapping or murder and applies without regard to whether the defendant previously was convicted of a sex offense.
Facing Charges For A Jessica Lunsford Act Violation And Have Questions? I Can Help, Tell Me What Happened.
The new law requires the court to impose a sentence fixed by the court between 25 years and life imprisonment, of which the defendant must serve 25 years before becoming eligible for parole unless a longer term is otherwise provided by law. Under this law, the Prosecution is prohibited from offering a plea calling for less than 15 years of parole eligibility, and can only offer this after consideration of the interests of the alleged victim.