New Jersey Aggravated Sexual Assault with a Weapon Attorney
Respected Aggravated Sexual Assault with a Weapon Defense Lawyer in Mount Laurel, NJ Compassionately Handles Complex Cases for Clients in Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Throughout South Jersey
Being accused of a sex crime of any kind can significantly damage your reputation. It can also have serious and long-term implications for your ability to find work and housing, access credit, and be near or around children and schools. If you were charged with sex crimes of any kind or are involved in legal proceedings revolving around allegations of sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault, don’t take any chances and contact our experienced New Jersey aggravated sexual assault with a weapon attorney today. Our team has extensive first-hand knowledge of the criminal justice system, and we can help you understand the charges you face, the laws that apply to your case, and what you need to do to succeed with a favorable outcome.
Highly Adept New Jersey Aggravated Sexual Assault with a Weapon Attorney Helps You Understand and Fight Against Sex Crime Charges
According to NJ Rev Stat § 2C:14-2 (2014), the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice governs sexual assault; sexual assault is a crime of the second degree. Examples include sexual assaults such as forcible rape. However, it can be elevated to aggravated sexual assault, a crime of the first degree, if a weapon is involved. These types of sex crimes carry some of the harshest penalties in New Jersey, including between 10 and 20 years in prison, minimum imprisonment terms without any eligibility for parole, registration as a sex offender, and hefty fines. Depending on the age of the victim, you can even face between 25 years and life behind bars for a sex offense conviction.
So, what constitutes sexual assault as per New Jersey state laws?
Based on the statutes above:
- Rape is any type of unwanted sexual penetration. This can lead to charges of sexual assault. Rape and sex via coercion by an offender are included here.
- Statutory rape of a minor is when the victim is between the ages of 13 and 16 and the offender is at least four years older than them. If the minor is between the ages of 16 and 18, then sexual assault charges can also be brought forth against an adult who has control or supervisory power over them.
- Sexual contact with a minor means acts of sexual contact such as inappropriate sexual touching, which can lead to charges of criminal sexual contact. These charges can be elevated to sexual assault if the alleged acts involved a minor victim under the age of 13 and an offender who is at least four years older than the victim.
Sexual assault can be elevated to aggravated sexual assault if any of the following apply:
- Rape that results in injury to the victim;
- Statutory rape of a young minor – a victim under the age of 13;
- A parent, guardian, teacher, or anyone else with controlling or supervisory power over a minor between the ages of 13 and 16 who commits sexual assault against the minor can face elevated charges of aggravated sexual assault;
- Multiple people were involved in a rape, in which case all the offenders can be charged with aggravated sexual assault if the rape involved some level of force or coercion;
- Rape that was committed while committing another felony such as robbery, kidnapping, or aggravated assault;
- Rape that was committed while the offender possessed a weapon during the sexual assault.
All of these are serious charges that can derail your life in an instant. Regardless of what events transpired or how, speak with our New Jersey aggravated sexual assault with a weapon attorney for assistance with your case. Our aggravated sexual assault with a weapon defense lawyer in Mount Laurel, NJ has a track record of success, and we will do everything in our power to help you beat the charges you face.
Call Our New Jersey Aggravated Sexual Assault with a Weapon Attorney Today for Dedicated Representation and Strategic Legal Counseling for Your Sex Crime Charges
Reach out to John B. Brennan’s certified aggravated sexual assault with a weapon defense lawyer in Mount Laurel, NJ today for help fighting the sex crime charges you face. Our team will work to discredit the arguments and evidence of the prosecution so that your case is either dismissed or the charges and/or penalties you face are lowered. For sex crimes, you must be proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, and we have extensive experience handling every step of the New Jersey criminal prosecution process to do just that. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help you.
Frequently Asked Questions About Aggravated Sexual Assault with a Weapon in New Jersey
You can be labeled a sex offender under Megan’s Law and face lifelong parole supervision. You can also face incarceration for anywhere between 10 years and life, along with mandatory minimum prison terms. Aggravated sexual assault, a first-degree indictable offense, comes with fines of up to $200,000 as well. However, it is important to note that prison sentences can vary in different cases. First-degree felonies usually carry between 10 and 20 years in prison. This would change if the victim was under 13 years old, in which case you may face a minimum mandatory term of 25 years behind bars.
We can discredit the case of the prosecution by proving that evidence against you was obtained illegally or in violation of your constitutional rights, or that other case specifics—such as the age of the alleged victim, the severity of any injuries they may have sustained, or even the presence of weapons during the commission of a crime—are unclear, not backed by evidence, or disputed at best. Speak with our New Jersey aggravated sexual assault with a weapon attorney today so that we can investigate your case and determine the best path forward to potentially secure your freedom and a dismissal of the charges you face.