Can I Travel Out of State While on Probation?

May 24, 2022

Probation can limit your ability to travel. However, this doesn’t necessarily mean that travel isn’t possible while on probation.  How to Travel Out of State While on Probation It may be possible to travel out of state while on probation. However, it’s important to receive approval prior to travel. Otherwise, you could be charged with violating your probation. To travel…

Read More
Everything You Need to Know Now That Marijuana Sales Are Legal in NJ

May 1, 2022

As of April 21, 2022, New Jersey residents 21 years and older can legally purchase recreational marijuana. However, there are still some laws surrounding the purchase and possession of recreational marijuana you need to familiarize yourself with if you plan to purchase.  Marijuana Dispensaries Open in New Jersey The New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission has issued a total of seven…

Read More
Consequences of a Domestic Violence Charge in New Jersey

April 16, 2022

Domestic violence charges can have both short and long-term consequences. The details of the charges determine whether domestic violence is considered a misdemeanor or a felony in New Jersey. What is Domestic Violence? Domestic violence is violence that occurs between domestic partners. This may include spouses or immediate family members. It may also include friends, roommates, or ex-spouses. Domestic violence…

Read More
Are New Jersey Arrest Records Public?

April 1, 2022

A criminal record can have many consequences on your personal and professional life. As such, you may be wondering if arrest records are public and if potential landlords or employers can access them. We answer this commonly asked question below.  What is an Arrest Record? An arrest record is a report that lists the details of an arrest. It may…

Read More
What to Expect at a Domestic Violence Detention Hearing

March 22, 2022

Domestic violence cases now require a detention hearing in New Jersey. Learning what a detention hearing is and what to expect during one can help you prepare for your case. What is a Detention Hearing? New Jersey recently enacted the Criminal Justice Reform, which is sometimes referred to as Bail Reform. This program removes the traditional bail system that requires…

Read More
Newark, NJ Police Officer Charged With Sex Crime Against Uber Driver

March 7, 2022

A police officer employed by the Newark Police department was arrested recently and accused of a sex crime with an Uber driver. The 23-year-old police officer is being charged with criminal sexual contact. The victim, a 36-year-old Uber driver, is accusing the police officer of a sexual crime after identifying himself as a police officer. The police officer is being…

Read More
Penalties For Heroin Possession in New Jersey

January 28, 2022

New Jersey lists the possession of heroin as a third-degree crime. Understanding the different levels of charges and their potential consequences is important if you’re dealing with pending heroin possession charges. This can help you evaluate your legal options and consider any legal defense you may have available. Potential Consequences for Possession of Heroin In most cases, the possession of…

Read More
Terroristic Threats And Stalking Charges (What to Do If You’re Charged)

January 16, 2022

Making threats or stalking can lead to expensive fines and even jail time. Learn more about what constitutes terroristic threats and stalking charges in New Jersey. What are Terroristic Threats? Terroristic threats include any threats that indicate an intent to cause an evacuation of a building with the purpose of terrorizing. This may include bomb threats or any situation in…

Read More
How to Get Help for Domestic Violence Over the Holiday Weekend

December 20, 2021

Domestic violence doesn’t take the holidays off. In fact, it can leave victims of domestic violence feeling helpless with nowhere to turn. The holidays often include alcoholic celebrations, which can also make domestic violence concerns more common. Many agencies may close for the holidays, leaving some to feel like they’re left to deal with the situation alone. Here are a…

Read More
Will I Go to Jail for Firearm or Weapon Possession in New Jersey?

December 14, 2021

If convicted of weapon or firearm possession in New Jersey, you can receive costly fines and even prison time. Learn more about New Jersey’s firearm and weapon laws. What is Section 2C:39-5? Section 2C:39-5 is a part of the New Jersey Code of Criminal Justice. This section refers to people who are charged with the possession of firearms. The crime…

Read More